

# **Newsletter April 2022**

**Editor: Andrew Grant** 

newsletter@cambridgecc.co.uk

### Resumption-of-near-normal-service edition

For the first time in two years, members gathered for the...

## ANNUAL DINNER



...at Fitzwilliam College, courtesy of Ken Platts, a Fellow of the College, through whom the booking was arranged, and Social Secretary and organiser Sue Taylor. COVID nevertheless continued to cast its shadow: guest speaker, Professor Tony Purnell - a club member and Head of British Cycling's legendary Secret Squirrel Club in succession to Chris Boardman, in charge of the technical developments that have helped frustrate our rivals over successive Olympiads - had succumbed to the virus.

A somewhat temperamental Zoom link nevertheless allowed him to show us his positive lateral flow test before delivering a fascinating account of the development of the Hope Lotus frame that helped Jason Kenny abscond with the Tokyo Kierin title by a margin calculated to be equal to the aerodynamic advantage provided by the bike.



Tony's virtual, rather than physical, presence, would have made the traditional prize presentation a challenge, had we had any trophies to present, which, perhaps fortuitously, we didn't, partly owing to the continuing lack of a volunteer to fill the vacant committee post of Trophies Secretary and partly owing to the almost complete absence from the dinner of anybody who would have received a trophy had there been any trophies to present.

The exceptions to this rule of vacancy were Will Burton, Colbon Cup winner 2021, for his maintenance of the club time trialling programme through the pandemic, and Lucy Matthews, Women's Club 10 champion 2021. The notional destinations of most of the club trophies for the two pandemic years have nevertheless been decided and are as follows:

Championship	Trophy	2020	2021
Club 10 (men)	September Plate	Not awarded	Chris Hoole
Club 10 (women)	Medal	Not awarded	Lucy Matthews
Hill Climb (men)	Lewis Cup	Josh Oldfield	James Ward
Hill Climb (women)	A R Skeel Memorial	Louise Ireland	Not awarded
Fastest 10 of year	WW1 Memorial Bowl	Dave Bell	Dave Bell
Fastest 25 of year	Halford Cup	Dave Bell	Adam Fisher
Fastest 50 of year	Woods Cup	Andy Grant	Adam Fisher
Open 25 (men)	John Brown Memorial	Ashley Cox	Marcus Christie
Open 25 (women)	John Brown Memorial	Hayley Simmonds	Angela Carpenter
Open 25 (team)	John Brown Memorial	Aerolab	Drag2Zero
Open 50	Viking Trophy	Not awarded	Tim McEvoy
Open Road Race	Ike Saul	James O'Connell	Not awarded
Road Race perf'ce	Harry Lewis Cup	Not awarded	Tom Begg
Most BC points	LVP Cup	Robert Speers	Andy Bathe
Most Audax points	Centenary Quaich	lan Bird	lan Bird
Newcomer Award	John Jeffrey Trophy	Dave Bell	Jolyon Glynn
Club Runner Award	Brian Mynott Trophy	Not awarded	Will Lockhart
Club person of year	Colbon Cup	Chris Dyason	Will Burton

The only live presentation was to Sue Taylor, dinner organiser and longstanding Club Runs Captain.

Sue's unfortunate accident at the end of last year, when she slid off on the perennially wet corner in Grantchester and suffered a fracture, prompted her to stand down from that role in which she has been succeeded by Will Lockhart.

She will also be stepping back from her responsibilities as Social Secretary at the next AGM, so we shall be looking for a successor there too. We are grateful for all Sue has done for the Club in both roles.



#### All photos, Davey Jones

### **CLUB RUNS**

Club runs have remained the most vibrant aspect of club life over the past two odd years with the last few months seeing a welcome return to Addenbrookes on Sunday mornings and good



numbers of groups and individuals riding both at weekends and on Wednesdays. (*left: traffic jam at Trotting Horse Lane*) The WhatsApp sign-up system, though not universally popular, appears to be working and has perhaps contributed to a more disciplined standard of riding than has always been the case in the past.

Destinations have included the usual favourites: (*Maglia Rosso, right*) as well as some more adventurous forays. (*Holkham, below*)



and have afforded the highly-prized opportunities for practising routine bike maintenance that have been much missed over lockdown. *(right: Kate in the play area)* 





### TIME TRIALS

The Club evening time trials are back in operation with Mick Draper and Ian Bell back in harness as real live timekeepers, rather than Strava.

Good Friday, 15<sup>th</sup> April saw the Club's first Open promotion of the year, the Open 15 mile event based on the A428 at Codicote, well supported by marshals and helpers from the Club.

Organiser Chris Dyason again deployed his superpowers to rid the course of roadworks and temporary traffic lights 24 hours before the start, but unaccountably, a pothole on the



carriageway at Cambourne presumably shielded by a force field of green Kryptonite, stubbornly resisted. Not to be defeated, Chris erected a clear sign drawing attention to the hazard with arrows showing how to avoid it, with instructions at sign on, which were misinterpreted with great ingenuity by the pilot of the fastest tandem on the course, *(left, pothole-bound, photo Stuart Ashwell)* who followed the

arrows to steer towards it, instead of away from it, resulting in a front wheel blowout at speed and a long walk, fortunately without injury, other than to two pairs of cleats.



Potholes aside, high pressure and a south-easterly drift exposing riders to headwind conditions for 56% of their time on the course, were not conducive to record breaking and the only rider to beat 30mph was George Fox *(left)* of George Fox Cycling Solutions, finishing in 28:34 and rather proving the point of his team's name, I guess.

Fastest Cambridge CC rider was Martin Reynolds (right) in



32:07, about a minute back on his time in the same event last year and just ahead of the 32:38 of Andy Grant, (*left*), the only home rider to keep any of the prize list local with third place on veteran's standard.

(photos: Davey Jones)

